Engineer takes top Research Award

IMAGE: Dr Musa Bashir with Excellence in Research finalists, Professor Gaetano Pentassuglia (Law), Robyn Lotto, Professor Greg Lip and Professor Ian Jones (Centre for Cardiovascular Science), Vice Chancellor Mark Power and Dr Richie Kirwan (SES).

“Inspiring and stunning” is how Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) Keith George described entries to this year’s record-breaking Research & Knowledge Exchange Awards.

The 160 entries – the most ever – had made the 2023 award judging exceptionally difficult, said Professor George, and the high quality of submissions had resulted in two awards being shared.

The top award – Excellence in Research – was made to Dr Musa Bashir, a naval architect in the School of Engineering, for his design and development work on decarbonisation and energy in the shipping industry.

Dr Bashir, who came to LJMU from Nigeria via industry, leads a range of high profile grants including an Innovate UK ‘Energy Catalyst’ initiative for bring power to remote African villages and a Bibby Marine scheme to build the UK’s first fleet of electric ships

Rising Star went to historian Dr Dan Feather (pictured with Chair of Governors Mike Parker) for his work with the British Council and his studies of British affairs in Southern Africa in the 20th Century.

The 2023 Winners in full:

  • Excellence in Research - Dr Musa Bashir (Engineering)

  • Excellence in Knowledge Exchange - Dr Helen Beckett Wilson and Dr Lindsey Metcalf McGrath (Justice Studies)

  • Excellence in Research and Knowledge Exchange Support (shared award) – ITS HPS Team led by Stuart Wright / Dr Cathy Montgomery (Psychology)

  • Excellence in Equality Diversity and Inclusion(shared award) – Dr Lisa White (Justice Studies) / Dr Alison Lui (Law)

  • Excellence in Promotion of Sustainability in RKE – The Low Carbon Eco-Innovatory, lead Lesley Lambert
  • Rising Star – Dr Dan Feather (Humanities and Social Sciences)

  • Research Supervisor – Dr Komang Ralebitso Senior (Pharmacy & Biomolecular Sciences)

  • Excellent Impact – Professor Trung Thanh Nguyen (Engineering)

  • Excellence in Public Engagement – Dr Holgar Mohaupt (Screen School)

Professor George concluded: “To have so many entries and such fierce competition illustrates the robust health of our LJMU research community and I am particularly thrilled to see how that community pulls together to recognise and credit the quality of the work of colleagues.”


More than 120 local school pupils take part in LJMU Summer University


LJMU powers Chester Zoo to Africa conservation award


Contact Us

Get in touch with the Press Office on 0151 231 3369 or